Home » About


The San Juan Basin, a 26 square mile groundwater basin located in southern Orange County, is within the San Juan Creek Watershed.

The basin is comprised of four subbasins: Upper San Juan, Middle San Juan, Lower San Juan and Lower Trabuco.  The San Juan Basin underlies portions of Mission Viejo, San Juan Capistrano, Dana Point and unincorporated areas of south Orange County.

Since the San Juan Basin is categorized as a subterranean flowing stream, the State Water Resources Control Board issues water rights permits for diversion and extraction of water from the basin.   The San Juan Basin Authority (SJBA) conducts the monitoring activities that are needed to comply with its permits and also actively pursues the development of projects within the basin.


Click here to view the 2016 Annual Financial Report

Click here to view the 2014 Annual Financial Report